Brrr It’s Cold – Get Your Soup On!

It’s that time of year when the weather turns cold and we’d rather stay inside and eat something warm than nosh on a salad, am I right? Well if you can’t relate to the eating like a rabbit scenario, then maybe you just like a hot bowl of soup with some fresh cornbread? Either way these soup recipes will be perfect for warming you from the inside out.

Ahh, Halloween, the time when pumpkins are a plenty at the supermarket. At my local Asda I can get two nice sized ones for £3 and that is a bargain. Especially when I love to make pumpkin spice everything. Until I moved here I hadn’t eaten anything pumpkin other than pie and lattes, but now I know it is a fantastic soup ingredient. So step outside the box and make one of my personal favourites.

Roasted Garlic Sage Pesto Pumpkin Soup with Spicy Fried Pumpkin Seeds

Pumpkin Soup with Garlic and Sage - Recipes

Looks so tasty doesn’t it. Pumpkins have many more uses than just carving and throwing them in the bin at Halloween. Pumpkins are perfect for soups, stews and curries. This recipe from Half Baked Harvest has a lot going on but don’t despair. They break it down so that when it all comes together it is perfection.

I haven’t been able to find mini pumpkins around my town centre, but if you have them near you I would definitely go for the roasted pumpkin bowl as a serving dish. Not only is it seriously the perfect bowl, but roasted pumpkin is delicious and it would add just a bit more meatiness to this soup. When I made the soup I made my own croutons as I love to have a bit of crunch in my soup and who doesn’t like bread, I mean really? Can’t do gluten then use cauliflower and make some lovely cauliflower crisps to go with it because every soup needs a bit of crunch!

Broccoli and Cheese Soup in a Bread Bowl

Recipes - Broccoli and Cheese soup

Creamy, delicious and decadent. This brocolli and cheese soup recipe from I Heart Nap Time is perfect for these cold British nights. You can easily find these round bread rolls to serve the soup in as a bowl or make them from scratch. I tend to put a bit of rosemary and garlic in my bread dough then make my rolls from scratch. It adds just a hint of my favourite spices when I’m enjoying a bit of the warm fresh bread.

For the soup, it is relatively easy to make and can quickly be made in one pot. For my recipe I substituted all the sharp cheddar for half sharp cheddar and half spicy cheese as we like a bit of a kick in our household.

Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Soup

Recipes - Soup - Autumn - Roasted Butternut and Bacon

Hands down there is absolutely nothing better than bacon, well at least not in the savoury world. It add’s smokey deliciousness to every meal that it appears in and is absolutely stunning on its own.

I bought a butternut squash at Lidl the other day for a fab £0.69 and not knowing how long they typically last I figured I better do something with it and quick before I have a mess on the worktop. Last year with my butternut squashes I made loads of butternut squash and roasted red pepper soup, this year I wanted something a bit different. I found this recipe from Damn Delicious and immediately fell in love.

This isn’t as quick as the broccoli and cheese soup as it requires roasting and is definitely more than a one pot(er) but the end result is definitely worth it. Whilst the recipe calls for an immersion blender, I don’t have one of these and my food processer works just fine to get it nice and smooth. The trick is to make sure that your butternut squash is roasted until soft and mushy.

Creamy Spiced Cauliflower Soup

Recipes - Spiced Creamy Cauliflower Soup - Fall Recipes

Cauliflower these days is the vegetable of many uses. You can make pizza bases out of it, something like mashed potato and this beautiful soup. Of course there are other things but we only have so much time in a day. After making this cauliflower soup you will never eat cauliflower any other way because it is just that damn good.

For the recipe from Produce on Parade you will need to have quie a bit of spices on hand. If you don’t never fear you can pick bulk ones up at Ikea or Tiger in the UK for relatively cheap and at of course Walmart in the US for next to nothing. Plus, if you buy in bulk you’ll have them on hand when you want this soup again (like next week). Just remember, if you’re in the US and looking everywhere for coriander and can’t find it, that’s because it’s cilantro in America. Don’t ask me, I don’t make the rules. Anyway clean up with this soup is pretty much a breeze because it literally is a one pot soup. You can cook it all up transfer to either a food processor or blender to make it smooth then back to its original pot.

I love to serve this soup as a starter when we have guests because it really gets the palette going, ready for a tasty main.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Recipes to Warm the Soul - Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Winter and Autumn are the time of year when my slow cooker (crock pot) gets the most use. During the summer and spring months I tend to live off of salads topped with some sort of meat mixture. But in the winter when the snow is piled up on the ground, the cars are covered with ice, I want to come home to a meal, fully cooked that will warm me through to the soul. This recipe from Little Spice Jar not only tastes fantastic but when you come home, open the door and the smell hits you, your mouth is watering. It is just that good.

Now, the recipe calls for a spice from Trader Joes, easy to get if you are in America, not so easy to get if you are in the UK. I throw the kitchen sink at this one. Tarragon, oregano, rosemary, thyme, black pepper, white pepper, poultry seasoning, garlic and chili pepper flakes. The key to this is not to include a lot of salt or if you use a seasoning mix make sure that salt isn’t a key ingredient. The reason? When you put everything into your slow cooker it calls for a LOT of seasoning and you definitely don’t want to have loads of salt in your soup when you get home.

So this isn’t loads of soup recipes, because let’s be honest I’m sitting here with a napkin and my mouth is watering at this point. I need to go make something!

Have a soup recipe favourite? A slow cooker secret? Share it with me!

Leave a Reply

