slow cooker recipes - sticky pumpkin cake - tale of two sisters

Life Made Simple – Slow Cooker Recipes

If you’re like me and maybe you are, maybe you aren’t, you just don’t have time every night to dish up something amazing from scratch. Between work, hot yoga, school, kids and well more work I’m lucky if I can breathe! My slow cooker is literally my lifesaver. I think if I didn’t have it there would be long stretches where all I would eat is cereal. Not that I’m complaining I’m a massive lover of Cocopops and bananas. Hey it’s got dairy, fiber and fruit!

Anyhow, back to the all important slow cooker, crock pot, wondermachine, whatever you want to call it. I’ve scoured the interwebs for recipes that I can put together, put in the freezer and throw in the crockpot. Because when it’s this close to Christmas, coming home to dinner already ready is an absolute miracle and a serious weight lifted off my shoulders.

Honey Garlic Chicken and Veggies

Slow Cooker Recipes - Honey Garlic Chicken - Tale of Two SistersIt’s Friday afternoon and I’m starving. I find myself looking through Pinterest for next weeks dinners and I come across this beauty from Damn Delicious. The name of the blog is absolutely appropriate for this recipe. I mean, how could you go wrong with honey and garlic….chicken and veggies?! You can’t!

I love that you can use either bone in chicken or chicken breasts, depending on whether you want to broil the chicken in the end. If you’re a lover of crispy chicken skin you don’t lose that with this slow cooker recipe. The vegetables come out beautiful and tender and the baby carrots have that taste of honey glazed carrots that I love. Definitely a must try for me next week.

Chicken Enchilada Quinoa

Slow Cooker Recipes - Chicken Enchilada Quinoa - Tale of Two SistersIf I haven’t made it clear enough in previous posts, let me make it clear today. I am a MASSIVE lover of Mexican food. I mean, I could eat huevos rancheros for breakfast, enchiladas for lunch and tamales for dinner. I don’t think there is a Mexican dish I don’t like and this one is definitely no exception.

Quinoa is a great alternative when you’re craving carbs but watching your weight. It still gives you that great feeling of fullness you get with pasta and rice without all the unhealthy side effects, like a third butt cheek. This recipe from Bobbi’s Kozy Kitchen is full of all the flavours of Mexican enchiladas. Imagine coming home to those tantalising smells, that enticing flavour, without having to slave over the stove. I used to think that was impossible. What’s even better? Dropping a few warmed up spoonfulls of this delightful concoction into a whole wheat tortilla for lunch. It’ll have you saying ‘Oh My Mexican’.

General Tso’s Chicken

Slow Cooker Recipes - General Tso's Chicken - Tale of Two SistersThis is like the holy grail of slow cooker recipes. Where are you Creme de la Crumb so I can shake your hand personally?! After moving to England I learned that Chinese food is VERY different than in America. In fact, no one has ever even heard of General Tso’s Chicken. Well in my opinion they have no idea what they are missing.

This recipe finally gives me the chance to eat my favourite Chinese takeaway from home! I’ll come home to the spicy, sweet smell, whip up some sticky rice and you won’t hear a peep from me for ages. Because I’ll be too busy eating!

With a bit of preparation and a slow cooker to hand you could be coming home to insanely delicious General Tso’s chicken. Not only is it cheaper than takeaway, it tastes better and is better for you.

Caramel Apple Crumble

slow cooker recipes - apple crumble - tale of two sistersJust STAHP it already! I know, I know. I’m constantly posting desserts and this definitely won’t be the last time, but what kind of food blogger would I be if I didn’t include at least two desserts that you could make in the slow cooker?! A rubbish one, that’s what.

I love desserts, crumbles are one of my favourite things to make and eat. This recipe from Fake Ginger is fabulous! I wouldn’t suggest cooking this one whilst you’re at work, but what you could do is put it in, make dinner then by the time you’re done eating and have had a natter this will be more than ready to serve your guests. Pair it with some homemade custard or cooling vanilla ice cream and this is a treat perfect for any time of year.

 Sticky Caramel Pumpkin Cake

slow cooker recipes - sticky pumpkin cake - tale of two sistersIt is no secret that I am a connoisseur of cake, a purveyor of pumpkin. Pumpkin is my all time favourite gourd. Finding this recipe from Platter Talk has made my week. At least now I know what dessert I’m serving at my British Thanksgiving feast in a few weeks.

You can take the girl out of America but you definitely can’t take the Thanksgiving out of the girl (especially if she loves to cook).

I never imagined that there was a possibility to make a cake this moist, this gah….wonderful, in a slow cooker. Like the crumble it isn’t something you can put in, in the morning and come home and it’s done. You will literally come home to a gigantic, inedible mess. But you can make it before dinner and it’s ready when you are. If you’re a fan of sticky toffee pudding, I would suggest giving this fabulous pumpkin cake a try.

Have your own secret slow cooker recipes? Why not share them with me? I’ll cook them up and review them here for all the world to see.

One thought on “Life Made Simple – Slow Cooker Recipes

Leave a Reply

