Review – The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon

I have to start this review by saying – I finished this book in one day. 

It’s quite the page turner; held my attention so completely that I just couldn’t put it down.

Through the first several chapters I was having trouble seeing how all the different people in the story were connected. You have the wife grieving her husband after a recent car accident, a missing mother with her two daughters, the story of a mother who loses her daughter in 1908 and then is later found skinned next to her husband who’s been shot, and an old woman, ‘Auntie’.

Whilst there may be a bit of jumping back and forth from the early 1900’s to the present day, it’s worth wading through the ‘I don’t understands’ to get to the point of the story. There are so many twists and turns to the story that it kept me guessing and shocked in many cases when things were beginning to be revealed.

The author did a great job of making me feel like I was in the moment with the characters. They were relatable and the way the scene was set played like a movie in my mind.

The end of the book left on quite the cliffhanger. Will there be another story to continue after this one? If there was – I’d like reading that one as well.

I won’t give any spoilers away for this book. I picked it up at Target on my last day in the states, as my go-to read for the plane. Reading on the plane was quickly replaced by sleeping like the dead. Alas, it kept me company until the wee hours of this morning.

If you’re a lover of history, a good ghost story or even the paranormal, I would definitely recommend this author and especially this book.

Happy Reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

